I want to migrate data to a new Mac

Follow

Use Setup Assistant or Migration Assistant to migrate data from a CCC backup to a new Mac

When you get a new computer from Apple, it has a specific version of macOS installed on it, and further, a hardware-specific "build". Your new Macintosh cannot boot from the older version and build of macOS that is installed on your older Mac, so simply restoring your old Mac's backup onto your new Mac won't work. We recommend that you use the Setup Assistant application (runs on your Mac's very first boot) or the Migration Assistant application to migrate content from your old Mac to a new Macintosh. You can migrate directly from a CCC backup of your old Mac. Once you have migrated your user accounts and applications using Setup Assistant or Migration Assistant, you can continue to use CCC to back up your Mac to the same backup volume that you were using for the old Mac.

Migration Assistant and the CCC SafetyNet

If your backup volume has a "_CCC SafetyNet" folder, you can move that folder to the Trash before using Migration Assistant to avoid copying that folder during a migration. This is particularly important if that folder has a lot of data in it and you're migrating to a disk that is smaller than the backup volume. If you would like to retain the SafetyNet folder on the backup volume, don't empty the Trash. After Migration Assistant has completed, then you can move the SafetyNet folder back to the root of the backup volume.

Related Documentation

After you've migrated data to your new Mac...

Once you have migrated data with Apple's Migration Assistant, there will be some housekeeping to perform. Many software companies tie the registration to the disk or Mac it's installed on to reduce piracy, so some applications may need to be re-registered. Some applications may also need to have the location of their data storage re-selected. We cover some common application-specific issues that we've seen here: Why do some applications behave differently or ask for the serial number after restoring from the backup?

CCC will also require some attention to get your backup tasks working on the new Mac. When you migrate tasks to a new Mac, CCC suspends the backup tasks to prevent them from running in error. Open CCC and select each task, choosing to activate the task when prompted. Any tasks that reference a volume from the old Mac will need to be updated to reference the new volume, even if the volume name is the same. For example, if your source was "Macintosh HD" on the old computer and is still "Macintosh HD" on the new Mac, you will have to reset the source to reference the new Macintosh HD volume. Click on the Source selector and choose the option to select a different source, then select the correct source volume.

Click on the Source selector and choose the option to select a different source
Select the new source

Once you're certain that you have migrated all of your data to the new Mac, you can clean up the old Mac before you hand it off to someone else. Apple offers some advice on that topic here: Apple Kbase #HT201065: What to do before you sell, give away, or trade-in your Mac

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk